Dalhousie University Libraries - Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites
HALIFAX, NOVA SCOTIA | CANADA B3H 4H8 | +1 (902) 494-3601

Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites

These six criteria deal specifically with the content of Web sites rather than the graphics or site design. The design features may contribute to the value of a site or they may be just for show.

For future use, the Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites provides an efficent method for applying the following questions to web sites.

1.  AUTHORITY

Authority reveals that the person, institution or agency responsible for a site has the qualifications and knowledge to do so.

How to evaluate a web site for authority? Consider the following questions:

  • Is it clear who developed the site?

  • Has the author clearly provided all contact information including: e-mail address, snail mail address, phone number, and fax number?

  • Has the author clearly stated their qualifications, credentials, or provided some personal background information, that gives them the authority to present the information on the site?

  • Is the site supported by an organization or a commercial body?

TEST these sites for AUTHORITY

  Addictions  HIV

2.  PURPOSE

The author should be clear about the purpose of the information presented in the site. Some sites are meant to inform, persuade, state an opinion, entertain, or parody something or someone.

How to evaluate a web site for purpose? Consider the following questions:

  • What is the purpose of the site and does the content support it?

  • Is the information geared toward a specific audience (students, scholars, general reader)?

  • Is the site well organized and focussed?

  • Are the links appropriate for the site?

  • Are the links evaluated at all?

  • The domain of the site may also indicate its purpose. The URL can provide useful information about the type of site.

TEST these sites for PURPOSE

  Immigration  White House

3.  COVERAGE

It is often difficult to assess the extent of coverage since the depth in a site, through the use of links, can be infinite. However, one author may claim to present comprehensive coverage of a topic while another may cover just one aspect of a topic.

How to evaluate a web site for coverage? Consider the following questions:

  • Does the site claim to be either selective or comprehensive?

  • Are the topics explored in depth?

  • How valuable is the web site compared to others on the same topic?

  • Is the site filled with links to other sites rather than its own content and information?

  • Is the site static in that it provides information with no relevant outside links?

TEST these sites for COVERAGE

  Toronto Vegetarian Association  Viagra

4.  CURRENCY

The currency of the site refers to: 1) how current the information presented is, and 2) how often the site is updated or maintained. It is important to know when a site was created, when it was last updated, and if all of the links are current.

How to evaluate a web site for currency? Consider the following questions:

  • Is the following information clearly provided?
    1) date the information was first written
    2) date the information was placed on the web
    3) date the information was last revised

  • Are the links up-to-date? All of the links provided should be reliable. Dead links or references to sites that have moved are not useful.

  • Is the information provided so trend related that its usefulness is limited to a certain time period?

  • Has the site been under construction for some time?

TEST these sites for CURRENCY

  Campaign Finance  Canadian Cancer Society

5.  OBJECTIVITY

The objectivity of the site should be clear. Beware of sites that contain a certain bias. Objective sites will present information with a minimum of bias, without the intention to persuade.

How to evaluate a web site for objectivity? Consider the following questions:

  • Is the information presented with a particular bias?

  • To what extent, if any, does the information try to sway the audience?

  • Does the site contain advertising that may be a conflict of interest with the content?

  • Is the site trying to explain, inform, persuade, or sell something?

TEST these sites for OBJECTIVITY

  Smokers.Com  Halloween

6.  ACCURACY

There are few standards available on the web to verify the accuracy of information. It is the responsibility of the reader to beware of the information presented. Be sure to differentiate fact from opinion.

How to evaluate a web site for accuracy? Consider the following questions:

  • How reliable is the information? If the author is affiliated with a known institution, this could be a clue.

  • If statistics and other factual information are presented, are proper references given for the origin of the information?

  • From the reading you have already done on the subject does the information on the site seem accurate?

  • Is the information provided comparable to other sites on the same topic?

  • Does the text follow basic rules of grammar, spelling and composition?

  • Is a bibliography or reference list included?

TEST these sites for ACCURACY

  Quackwatch  Toilet Training

Back to Critical Evaluation of Web Sites

Site originally created by Sue Hunter on January 19, 1999