What is an electronic journal?
They are the same as print journals except that they are accessible
via your computer. They publish articles on a variety of subjects. An article is
a statement of the results of original research done by professional scholars and
published in a scholarly publication such as an academic journal or periodical.
Scholarly journals are refereed: ie. articles are evaluated by other researchers
in the same field before they are published. Articles can also be found in magazines
or newspapers. These tend to be written by journalists for general audiences.
How do I find an electronic journal in my subject area?
You can browse a list of electronic journals categorized by subject.
Or you can search a database to find journal articles.
How do I get the article when it is in an electronic journal?
Some databases include the full-text of the article as part of the record.
In other words, it provides direct access to the electronic journal. If the
full-text is not provided via the database, then you search for the journal title
(Shakespeare Quarterly) in the Novanet catalogue to see if the Libraries subscribe to the journal. When a journal
is available electronically, Novanet includes the URL (Web address) where it can be accessed.
If the journal is held electronically at another Novanet library,
you can visit that library to obtain the article or
submit a Novanet Express request.
How do I read an article in an electronic journal?
Once you have linked to the journal, what you then see depends on how
the journal is supplied to us. If it is part of a database, then it will probably be
displayed as straight text. You can then usually print, save or email the article.
Sometimes the articles are displayed as PDF files which are images of the articles
as they appeared in the print version of the journal. Most PDF files can be viewed
using a freeware program called
Adobe Acrobat Reader.
How can I access or connect to the electronic journals?
Any computer on campus can access the electronic journals through the
Libraries web site. Dalhousie students, faculty and staff can also access them
from home by following the remote .
Why are there restrictions on who can use the databases?
Usually the licenses that we sign with the database vendor places restrictions on who can access the resource. More information.